Thames Meander Trail Marathon 2013 by Lindsy James

The Thames Meander Marathon is a trail marathon which starts in Kingston upon Thames and winds its way to the scenic Richmond Park where the course continues along the trail towards the river Thames towards Putney Bridge and back.

After a week of studying the weather forecast and worrying about the anticipated 30 degrees on the Monday to the potential of torrential rain on the day before thankfully both forecasts were wrong and we just ran in the lovely British drizzle.

The event is pretty low key about 500 runners between the half and full marathon.  It is run by the local club and has a really nice friendly feel to it.  I tried something new for this marathon which was to not be controlled by pace or worrying about distance markers (as there were none) I ran on my heart rate.  Owen was my pack horse loaded down with all of our drinks and gels but there were 7 fuelling stations along the way run by great volunteers.

Up to 16 miles I was second lady and could see the 1st place women slowly get reeled in., from that point on we passed about another 10 runners.  It wasn’t until we hit a climb into Richmond Park that I turned to Owen (mile 24) and said “I’ve had enough” but I managed to distract myself by the beautiful sight of stags watching me amble by.

Our last mile was one of the quickest due to my lovely husband saying if you pick it up you might get a PB.  Little did I know I was well inside a PB but his tactics worked anyway?  I crossed the line in a new PB of 3.11.51 setting the female course record.

I was chuffed to say the least and took away a prize which wasn’t quite as comparable to winning the London Marathon…a plaque smaller than the size  of a rich tea biscuit and a £15 voucher for a running shop down South so no glory didn’t go to my head.

The event was held at a school so we had great showering facilities (ideal size for a hobbit) followed by some hot food and a Pimms, you can tell we were down South.

If you fancy a weekend away with a scenic trail marathon thrown in the mix, this is one to consider.  It’s only £15 to enter, you get a great medal and it is chip timed plus frees nosh and drinks afterwards.

 

 

thames

Posted on August 24, 2013, in Marathon, Sports Massage. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

